14 C
Harrow on the Hill
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeHarrow CouncilNew Harrow Council cabinet revealed as leader vows to ‘put residents first’

New Harrow Council cabinet revealed as leader vows to ‘put residents first’

Last night, Harrow Council approved the new political leadership at a meeting to officially form the new cabinet.

Following the recent local elections which saw the Conservatives win 31 seats, Cllr Paul Osborn has now been officially appointed the new leader of the Council along with the newly formed cabinet who will lead on 10 portfolio areas.

Cllr Paul Osborn, Leader of the Council said: “Harrow residents have entrusted the Conservatives to tackle the issues that matter most to them – that includes fly-tipping and street cleansing, planning and high-rise buildings, parking and improving the services we provide to our residents and businesses.

“Putting residents first will be at the heart of everything we do. We have a lot of work to do but we are looking forward to the challenge to make Harrow a great place to live, work and visit.”

The first cabinet meeting will be held on Tuesday 24 May.

The new Harrow Council cabinet members are:

Cllr Paul Osborn: Leader of the Council

Cllr Marilyn Ashton: Deputy Leader and cabinet member for Planning and Regeneration

Cllr Hitesh Karia: cabinet member for Children’s Services

Cllr Pritesh Patel: cabinet member for Adult Services and Public Health

Cllr Stephen Greek: cabinet member for Performance, Communication and Customer Experience

Cllr Jean Lammiman: cabinet member for Community and Culture

Cllr Norman Stevenson: cabinet member for Business, Employment and Property

Cllr Mina Parmar: cabinet member for Housing

Cllr David Ashton: cabinet member for Finance and Human Resources

Cllr Anjana Patel: cabinet member for Environment and Community Safety

Non-executive Cabinet Members: Cllr Ameet Jogia, Cllr Thaya Idaikkadar, Cllr Kanti Rabadia

Committee Chairs: Cllr Amir Moshenson: Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Cllr Marilyn Ashton: Planning Committee

Cllr Kanti Rabadia: Givernance, Audit, Risk Management and Standards

Cllr Susan Hall: Licensing and General Purposes

Cllr David Ashton: Pension Fund

Source: Harrow Council