17.7 C
Harrow on the Hill
Friday, June 14, 2024
HomeCommunityFinalists revealed for the 2022 Harrow’s Heroes Awards

Finalists revealed for the 2022 Harrow’s Heroes Awards

Harrow Council have revealed the full list of finalists, as decided by judges, for the 2022 Harrow’s Heroes Awards.

Over 100 nominations have been received for the awards which celebrate volunteer work and members of the community that go that extra step to make Harrow a great place to work and live.

The awards presentation will be held later this month with 10 trophies being presented to winners.

Harrow Council will have a month-long celebration highlighting the awards with Mayor of Harrow, Cllr Janet Mote, delivering a message via social media to kick of the festivities.

The shortlisted finalists for each category are listed below…

Supporting Vulnerable People

Colin Powell – Nominated for his devotion and commitment to supporting unpaid carers and making Harrow a safer and more compassionate place for vulnerable people.

Jackie O’Hanlon – Nominated for her incredible efforts and outstanding work spanning more than 20 years working with and supporting special needs children.

Tanya Dennis – Nominated for her dedication to help vulnerable women and children, helping to change many lives by offering support and distributing essential food and equipment.

Vicky Leech – Nominated for creating a safe space for parents of children with special needs and disabilities to meet and express themselves without judgement.

Team Award

Friends of Harrow Weald Recreation – Nominated for their volunteer work, dedication and creativity that has helped improved Harrow Weald Recreation Ground and surrounding area in Harrow Weald.

Wealdstone Baby Bank – Nominated for helping local families by collecting and distributing donations of essential items for babies and children.

Wealdstone Baptist Church Foodshare – Nominated for collecting and distributing food, shopping, listening to those most in need and in doing so providing a life changing service.

Voluntary Action Harrow – Nominated for their ongoing dedication and support for local community and volunteer groups in a unique empathic way.


Health and Wellbeing award

Aurora Da Silva – Nominated for her leadership of Need to Talk which has been at the forefront of supporting mental health of people affected by the pandemic.

Bina Padia – Nominated for her walk talk group which has helped many women cope with their mental health and helped keep people fit- especially through the pandemic.

Lorna Gordon – Nominated for her high level of empathy and help with a client recovering from alcohol use.

Bringing People Together

Brian Rose – Nominated for supporting patients at Northwick Park Hospital via Radio Harrow who are lonely, isolated or sick.

David Phelops – Nominated for his outstanding contribution to the people of Harrow and the wider community through More Than Just a Choir which brings together and benefits those touched by mental illness.

Jade Weir Reid – Nominated for going above and beyond to ensure that the needs of loved ones and the community are met by raising awareness of issues such as mental health, helping people become more financially literate and encouraging local businesses and young entrepreneurs pursue their dreams.

Julie Waller – Nominated for tirelessly working through the pandemic and beyond to improve the community for everyone in Pinner.

Lifetime achievement

Beryl Jones – Nominated for her lifetime service and selfless efforts to improve the lives of others, bringing comfort, support and friendship.

Gerry Devine – Nominated for dedicating more than 35 years volunteering and his contribution has helped improve the lives of many Harrow residents.

Marilyn Devine – Nominated for making a significant contribution to the lives of many Harrow residents spanning more than 30 years.

Vivian Morris – Nominated for dedicating more than 30 years as Beaver Leader offering life skills to the borough’s young residents.

Clean, Safe and Green Communities

Jane Galbraith – Nominated for guiding the community to get involved and help build and sustain the community in and around Harrow Recreation Ground.

Lee O’brien – Nominated for making an outstanding contribution to the safety of residents in Pinner.

Leslie Bolsover – Nominated for her commitment as the volunteer warden of Newton Farm Ecology to improve the park.

Simon Braidman – Nominated for his dedication and commitment to make Harrow a better place for residents and nature.

Simon Joshua – Nominated for his commitment to help the borough’s most vulnerable residents, and also seeking solutions to help our environment.


Extraordinary Achievement

Carly Orbell – Nominated for her care, compassion and commitment to support a 4 year old with learning disabilities move into temporary foster placement.

David Steele – Nominated for volunteering for the home library service helping to deliver books to those who cannot get to their local library due to age, disability or illness.

Rachel Dimond – Nominated for supporting those most in need, particularly young people. She inspires others to join her to improve the lives of Harrow residents through programmes such as the holiday activities programme.

Susan and Anthony Strugnell – Nominated for providing quality care to hundreds of Harrow children during the past 38 years.


[mailerlite_form form_id=1]

Inspiring Young People

4th Harrow Scout Group – Nominated for their commitment to the wellbeing of young people – in particular throughout lockdowns during the pandemic where they moved to online resources/activities to support young people.

16 Harrow Guides – Nominated for their dedication and time in helping young girls from diverse backgrounds get the opportunity to participate in new experiences, learn and practice new skills.

Harrow and Wembley Sea Cadets – Nominated for offering life changing skills and opportunities to young people. Their dedication and commitment inspires young people learn new skills and go places they thought were not possible.

Hussein Juma – Nominated for his outstanding work in making a difference to coach young people in table tennis and help them with their personal development.

Outstanding Young Person

Aditi Vajani – Nominated for her volunteer work at care homes, delivering food during the pandemic to those most in need.

Ariana Abawe – Nominated for using her magazine for Aghan people she has helped thousands of people who are less fortunate and  inspired young women, especially Afghan women to reach their goals and full potential.

Daniela Nastuta – Nominated for her dedication and commitment in using art to inspire young people through drawing and arts clubs in the borough all wile studying at university.

Kushi Halai – Nominated for her outstanding contribution at the 8th Kenton Beaver Scout Group inspiring many young people in Harrow and ensuring they have a safe place to have fun and enjoy themselves.