20.1 C
Harrow on the Hill
Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeNewsHarrow East General Election 2024 results

Harrow East General Election 2024 results

Conservative Bob Blackman has kept hold of the Harrow East seat with an increased majority of 11,680, on a turnout of 62.71 per cent, bucking the national trend which has seen heavy Conservative losses. Mr Blackman MP has represented the constituency since he was first elected back in 2010, as part of the Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government.

Addressing the crowd following his win, Mr Blackman MP said: “Tonight has not been a good night for the Conservatives, however it’s been a great night for the people of Harrow East.”

He added: “I would like to thank them from the bottom of my heart for returning me, for a fifth time, to represent them in parliament with an increased majority.


“Let’s look forward to another fives years representing Harrow East in parliament and, in two years’ time, rolling this forward to make sure we once again control Harrow Council.”

Harrow East General Election 2024 results Harrow Online
Harrow East Declaration. Bob Blackman received 25,466 votes. Image Credit: Grant Williams. Permission to use with all LDRS partners

Created in 1945, the constituency covers the major areas of Stanmore, Kenton, Queensbury, Belmont, Harrow Weald, and Canons Park. The seat has generally seen swings between the two major parties, but has predominantly been held by the Tories. Indeed, even as seats fell to Labour across the country, and within London, Harrow East has bucked the trend.

It was run by Labour during the Blair years but was lost to the Tories in 2010. In 2019, the Tory retained the seat with a majority of 8,170 and 54.4 per cent of the vote share (26,935 votes), with the Labour candidate coming in second place with 37.9 per cent of the vote.

Mr Blackman previously held positions on a number of committees, including for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, the Tobacco and Vapes Bill, and the Backbench Business Committee.

Full result

Bob Blackman, CON – 25,466

Primesh Patel, LAB – 13,786

Roger Clark, REF – 2,188

Sabira Lakha, IND – 2,097

Sebastian Newsam, GRN – 2,006

Reetendra Nath Banerji, LIB – 1,511

Sarrajulhaq Parwani, WPB – 723

Never miss another news story, subscribe to Harrow Online for FREE!