16.7 C
Harrow on the Hill
Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeNewsHarrow West General Election 2024 results

Harrow West General Election 2024 results

Labour’s Gareth Thomas has kept hold of the Harrow West seat with a reduced majority of 6,642 on a 56.85 per cent turnout. The constituency has been represented by Mr Thomas MP since he was first elected back in 1997.

Mr Thomas MP praised his fellow candidates for their ‘courage’ to stand for a seat in parliament and thanked residents of Harrow West for ‘once again putting their trust’ in him to represent them in parliament.

Addressing the crowd following his win, Mr Thomas MP said: “Throughout the course of the campaign, what has become very clear is the people of Harrow West, like I expect the rest of the country, are desperate for change.”


He added: “There are some in this country that think we should be independent of our politics, I am absolutely determined not to be independent about the people of Harrow West.

“I will always be on their side, […] always determined to represent them and seek the very best for them in Westminster and beyond.”

Created in 1945, the constituency covers the Harrow Council wards of Harrow, Wealdstone, Headstone, Rayners Lane, and South Harrow. The seat had previously been held by the Tories from its inception until Labour’s 1997 landslide victory.

Harrow West General Election 2024 results Harrow Online
Declaration. Labour held the seat of Harrow West but with a reduced majority. Image Credit: Grant Williams. Permission to use with all LDRS partners

In 2019, Mr Thomas retained the seat with a majority of 8,692 and 52.4 per cent of the vote share (25,132 votes). The Conservative candidate came in second place with 34.4 per cent of the vote. Tory Abbas Merali made ground on the Labour incumbent but ultimately came up short.

Mr Thomas has previously held three government positions, as Minister of State at: The Department of Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform, the Department of Trade, Investment and Consumer Affairs, and the Department for International Development.

Full result:

Gareth Thomas, LAB – 19,833

Abbas Merali, CON – 13,191

Pamela Fitzpatrick, IND – 4,120

Michael Beavis, REFORM – 2,639

Chris Noyce, LIB DEM- 2,404

Rupert Nepal George, GREEN – 2,438

Bharatkumar Patel, IND – 616

Never miss another news story, subscribe to Harrow Online for FREE!